The Distributed SQL Blog

Thoughts on distributed databases, open source, and cloud native

Is Your Distributed Database PostgreSQL Compatible, and Why Does This Matter?

Most companies now realize that compatibility with a widely adopted SQL API is essential to ensure the success of their modern distributed SQL databases.

But, there are many SQL database options available and each one takes a different approach to PostgreSQL compatibility. This can have major implications for the developers and applications leveraging these databases.

In our upcoming live event, Yugabyte CTO and Co-Founder Karthik Ranganathan will be discussing the key criteria you can use to evaluate PostgreSQL compatibility.

Free Webinar: Evaluating PostgreSQL Compatibility in Distributed SQL Databases

Dec 7, 10 am PT / 1 pm ET / 7 pm CET

Register Now

Karthik will apply a comparison framework to analyze four major distributed SQL databases:

  • Google Spanner
  • Amazon Aurora
  • CockroachDB
  • YugabyteDB

He will examine key aspects of PostgreSQL compatibility within each database, including features, code, and interface, as well as the overall architecture.

Have your say: Are there any additional or related topics you think should be covered in this event? What else would be useful to know?

Feel free to send us your suggestions in advance, or you can ask questions live during the webinar.

We hope you’ll join us for this useful and thought-provoking event!

Register Now

For more information on PostgreSQL compatibility in a distributed database, check out Karthik’s recent blog, Are Stored Procedures and Triggers Anti-Patterns in the Cloud Native World?

You can also join the Yugabyte Community via our Slack channel to connect with database experts from across the world.

Related Posts